The Bookshop on the Corner PDF ✓ The Bookshop

The Bookshop on the Corner Nina Redmond is a librarian with a gift for finding the perfect book for her readers But can she write her own happy ever after In this valentine to readers, librarians, and book lovers the world over, the New York Times bestselling author of Little Beach Street Bakery returns with a funny, moving new novel for fans of Meg Donohue, Sophie Kinsella, and Nina George s The Little Paris Bookshop Awww, I loved this book about a librarian getting laid off from her readers advisory job and opening a bookshop on wheels in Scotland A tad predictable but so what, it was a fun journey I was a public services librarian for 42 years and a bookmobile librarian for of 17 of those years, so the thoughts about helping patrons find just the right books to read really resonated The setting in Scotland was very appealing as were the love interests and I m ready to book a trip The theme of rein Awww, I loved this book about a librarian getting laid off from her readers advisory job and opening a bookshop on wheels in Scotland A tad predictable but so what, it was a fun journey I was a public services librarian for 42 years and a bookmobile librarian for of 17 of those years, so the thoughts about helping patrons find just the right books to read really resonated The setting in Scotland was very appealing as were the love interests and I m ready to book a trip The theme of reinventing your life in the book world reminded me of Anjali Banerjee s Haunting Jasmine, only without a supernatural element.Recommended for readers advisory librarians and anyone else who loves a sweet comfort read featuring hunky men and appealing book descriptions Added Note I questioned the method that Nina used in obtaining her books from the closing library for use in her own business but maybe it s different in the U.K Shout out to this fabulous book in my latest YouTube Video all about my favorite bookish books and while I attempt a little baking in the background Thanks for watching and happy reading The Written Review This book spoke to my soul Because every day with a book is slightly better than one without, and I wish you nothing but the happiest of daysNina Redmond is my favorite kind of main character she feels like a best friend A very bookish best friend The best possible ki Shout out to this fabulous book in my latest YouTube Video all about my favorite bookish books and while I attempt a little baking in the background Thanks for watching and happy reading The Written Review This book spoke to my soul Because every day with a book is slightly better than one without, and I wish you nothing but the happiest of daysNina Redmond is my favorite kind of main character she feels like a best friend A very bookish best friend The best possible kind of best friend.Nina is was a librarian Her job was her everything She spent every waking moment, caring for all of the little library books, curling up with a new novel every night and most importantly, helping people find the book that they needed the most Books were her everything for Nina, whenever reality, or the grimmer side of reality, threatened to invade, she always turned to a bookThey had mended her heart when it was broken, and encouraged her to hope when she was downBut all that vanished All that comfort and security from her library job snuffed out And Nina is just reeling and the midst of her panic, she comes to a realization with the help of her friend Just do something You might make a mistake, then you can fix it But if you do nothing, you can t fix anything And your life might turn out full of regrets So, armed with an unwieldy old van and farbooks than one can imagine, Nina sets off to explore the countryside selling her books at farmers markets and festivals, all the while blossoming from a shy, timid librarian to the woman she was always meant to be.I absolutely adored this story The romance was so well done it was one of those romances where you fall in love with the way they re falling in love And the books so many booksjust cinched the novel for me I want to go out and check out every last book from the library that Nina suggests As an aside, I loved the way the author dedicated the book There is no dedication in this book because the entire book is dedicated to you the reader To all readers.Because this book is about reading and books, and how these things can change your life, always, I would argue, for the better The 2018 PopSugar Reading Challenge A book that involves a library or bookstoreAudiobook CommentsAn absolute pleasure to listen to thank you Lucy Price Lewis You are a fabulous reader The 2018 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge A book that involves a bookstore or libraryYouTube Blog Instagram Twitter Snapchat miranda.reads Happy Reading The Bookshop on the corner by Jenny Colgan is a 2016 William Morrow Paperbacks publication The title alone was enough to catch my eye I love books about books and this one will truly resonate with people like me, who live and breathe books, no matter what genre you prefer When Nina loses her beloved job at the library, she finds the courage to start her life over using her expert skills of matching people with books She buys a van and moves to Scotland and becomes a successful book seller The Bookshop on the corner by Jenny Colgan is a 2016 William Morrow Paperbacks publication The title alone was enough to catch my eye I love books about books and this one will truly resonate with people like me, who live and breathe books, no matter what genre you prefer When Nina loses her beloved job at the library, she finds the courage to start her life over using her expert skills of matching people with books She buys a van and moves to Scotland and becomes a successful book seller But, the journey is fraught with setbacks, adjustments, and a flood of personal turmoil as she settles into a small Scottish community and begins spreading the love of books and reading with the folks who live there Nina s character slowly blossoms, as she faces a few hard knocks, and meets those challenges withfortitude than she thought possible Her adventures are often hilarious, sometimes poignant, but her kindness and honesty touches an entire community, as well as the heart of a certain gentleman, making her a true inspiration This feel good story naturally appealed to the book lover in me Nina and I, could be two peas in a pod, and I instantly related to her, often smiling and nodding when her exuberance for books popped off the page While I took great pleasure in watching Nina tirelessly spread the gift of books to her isolated community, the story evolves into something , proving that people can work together to resolve problems if only they would try to see things from a perspective other than their own It s also about having the courage to pursue your dreams, for not settling or giving up, no matter how bleak things seem at the time All the characters are slightly quirky, and are well drawn, with compelling stories of the their own, adding much depth, charm, and warmth to this delightful tale This is a quick and easy read, is very light hearted and witty, and is sure to lift your spirits and solidify your love of reading and books and of course recommending them to all your friends, family and community Overall, anyone will like this book, I think, but contemporary romance readers and chick lit fans will definitely want to check this one out 4 stars Full review now posted below I love books with all of my heart Most kids sleep with stuffed animals, but I slept with some book or another even before I could read them for myself I was born with an intense love for words and the worlds that writers can craft with them Because of that fervent adoration for all things books, I delight in finding books about books Sadly though,often than not the books about books that I pick up tend to leave me disappointed There are a few exceptions, o Full review now posted below I love books with all of my heart Most kids sleep with stuffed animals, but I slept with some book or another even before I could read them for myself I was born with an intense love for words and the worlds that writers can craft with them Because of that fervent adoration for all things books, I delight in finding books about books Sadly though,often than not the books about books that I pick up tend to leave me disappointed There are a few exceptions, of course The Shadow of the Wind, The Neverending Story, and Inkheart being a few that made me so happy that my heart felt as though surely it would burst But others, such as Mr Penumbra s 24 Hour Bookstore, Fangirl, and this one, all left me feeling unsatisfied The first set of books were truly odes to the power of books Books were conveyed as important, friends to be treasured and revisited as often as possible The second set of books I listed started out that way But, eventually, books cease being viewed as treasures and are viewed instead as crutches, things only clung to by those who aren t truly living their own lives and thus have to live vicariously through the stories of others I disagree with that view of books vehemently Yes, books are a safe place to turn to when you re lonely or in pain I can logically agree that books are sometimes used as crutches to help us get through life My problem with that line of thinking is this what on earth is wrong with crutches I would rather have something to lean on that helps me walk steadily and securely through my life than hobble because I m too proud to use a crutch Besides that, in the words of George R.R Martin, A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies The man who never reads lives only one Now, onto the actual book I m supposed to be reviewing The Bookshop on the Corner was really cute, especially through the first half Nina, our main character, was faced with a huge change in her life, and she made the most of it by embracing her love of books and her dream of fostering that love in others by opening her own book shop Her bookshop wasn t conventional, and neither was the community she moved to in order to open it, but it suited her well She had a cast of cute and sometimes crazy friends and patrons who for the most part were incredibly supportive Nina s favorite thing in the world was literary matchmaking, pairing a person with the perfect book for where they were in their life That is, until love derailed her life Those of you who have read this, I hope you liked my pun there And that s where the book let me down, where it shifted from a love story about books to just being a love story with a few books scattered here and there And the love story was my most hated trope, a love triangle Both guys were cute and all, I just can t stand love triangles for some reason They make my lip curl Also, I ve become spoiled to the phenomenal writing found in fantasy nowadays, and the writing in this book fell flat for me comparatively This story was light and cute and sweet, but it just felt like consuming empty calories

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top